Georgia DUI Laws Under 21

If a person is caught driving while under the influence of any kind of alcohol, a person will face severe charges and penalties. But for under 21 age group, it leaves a person with very few options in Georgia as driving laws are strict and penalties are tougher especially for under 21 age group, with a shorter driving record and their inexperience. The violation may result in the following penalties:


First Offense

For the first offense, a person shall probably receive either 06 months License suspension with no limited driving, $300 to $1000 in fines including 60 days’ community service, and jail time up to 12 months if:

  • Person’s state-run blood sample test result shows, blood alcohol concentration (BAC) equal to or more than 0.2 grams and less than 0.8 grams.
  • No state-administered blood, breath, or urine test was conducted - refusal to submit to a test could incur a 12-month license suspension directly.
  • The test results were suppressed by the trial court.


The following two may result in 12 months' suspension along with other charges mentioned above:

  • A person's state-run blood sample test result shows blood alcohol concentration (BAC) more than 0.8 grams. 
  • As mentioned in item no. 2 above, refusal to submit a sample to the state administrated chemical substance test.


Second Offense

A second violation within the 10 years from the first offense may result in fines of $600 to $1000. Jail time of 72 hours to 12-months and community services for 30 days.


Third Offense

Third offense within the 10 years is a highly aggravated violation of the law, which may lead to $1000 to $5000 in fines and 15 days to 12-months in Jail with 30 days' community services. This highly aggravated violation will also mean that you will get only four days of credit for 30 days and the offender will be serving more time in custody. 


Fourth Offense

This highly aggravated violation will cost an offender $1000 to $5000 as fine, three months to five years' jail time, and a minimum of 60 days of community service.


License Suspension

If an offender is an underage driver caught under DUI law, expect six months’ license suspension and for multiple offenses, this may last up to 18 months to 5 years. This variation may be based on the offender's driving history and/or record. We recommend getting a DUI experienced law group, Attorney Michael Greene & Associates, for a better understanding of case and representation to help get through the legal process with the best outcomes. 


If a defendant neither admits guilt nor declares innocence he or she is entering what is referred to as a Nolo Contendere plea. This means that the defendant agrees that the court may consider him guilty to find him guilty and sentence him. Often, an under 21-year-old driver in Georgia may become misinformed and assume that a Nolo Contendere plea will save his or her driver's license from being suspended if charged with DUI. This is incorrect information, a Nolo Contendere plea will not save your driver’s license from being suspended as a result of a DUI charge.


Getting a DUI conviction at any age may result in serious consequences that might follow for years, not limited to permanent damage to a person's driving record that may cause a problem in applying to jobs and obtaining credits. 


If you are under 21 and have been arrested for DUI in Georgia, talk to an experienced defense attorney like Attorney Michael Greene & Associates about your case and the penalties you might face.

image13